Tags

, , , , , , ,

Walking through my house between attorney phone calls, agency phone calls, and various friends reaching out, I notice a dozen eggs brough into the house in a bucket. On the counter are two butternut squashes gifted to us. Walking through the kitchen I mentally tally all the food I need to prepare.

Most years this would be my fulltime job right now, gardening, cleaning up the property, cooking, canning, and preserving food. This year everything has been halted because we are trying to get Lucy back. That doesn’t mean a complete stand still, but it feels that way. I still have cherries and apples and prunes and such to can. I have large hunks of meat to make into soup to can. I have a lot of work to do. Food is coming in at a steady trickle now. I need to preserve what I can for when it doesn’t trickle in anymore in six months and we have nothing but stores for six months.

Our hot water heater is on the fritz and so is the dishwasher now. This in addition to the truck acting up is making my nerves frayed. How I will ever over come it all I don’t know. We haven’t the money to fix everything right now. So we triage, the truck first because it is needed soonest. Then the hot water heater next because it is vital. By next week we hopefully, fingers crossed, will have both fixed. As they say, God willing.

This doesn’t take into account the nightmares I have been having or the general threat I received. The gossiping Gales and their opinions aren’t helping either. I can’t focus on that though. I have too much to do. I have letters to get from people with them all notarized. I have calls to make. I have people to chat with and family to update. I have information to gather and service providers to connect with person to person. Keep me in your thoughts.

As always help bring Lucy home, http://www.givesendgo.com/lucy